Happiness

 

10. Happiness.jpg

Happiness. So few can claim it. So few can say they are happy in this world where corruption and destruction are daily events. Happiness seems to have become a rarity.

However, after struggling with family issues, suffering from depression, pulling myself out of it, and then still struggling with family issues, I can finally say that I am happy.

By no means am I happy all the time, 24/7, but I am happy. I am happy because I started this blog, because I can see my photography improving each time I take a new picture. I am happy because of music, and how passionate my sister is about all of the bands she likes, which just makes me excited about it too.

I am happy because I have learned not to rush myself. I take my time, I let myself breath and enjoy everything around me. I am happy because I see things I’ve never seen before, I notice now the way the snow falls, how the wind directs the flakes, and I notice the way the light hits the tress and creates the most beautiful shadows. I notice the sun and the light and the rain and it all makes me happy.

I am happy because my sister is happy, because others are happy. I notice everyone’s smiles and laughter now, even strangers, peers at school. And they might not be happy all the time like I am, but they are happy in that moment, something was able to make them smile and that makes me smile too.

I used to look back on my life and not be able to think of a single happy moment, but now, now that I’ve learned to enjoy the moment, I know when I am happy and I’ll smile at myself thinking how did I not see all of this before? How did I not appreciate what I had? Why did it take me so long to be proud of myself and to be happy with whom I was? Questions that may never be answered, but I don’t care anymore, because I am happy.

Are you?

-Brittany

One thought on “Happiness

Leave a Reply

