My Favourite Ted Talks

18-tedtalks

  1. Susan Cain: The Power of Introverts

https://www.ted.com/talks/susan_cain_the_power_of_introverts

I love this Talk because it’s what really made me understand introversion and helped me recognize that within myself. I ended up watching this three or four times because I showed it to my sister and then my dad and then at some point we watched it in a class I took last year.

Susan Cain also teamed up with Steelcase to make quiet offices for people in a workplace that need some space for creative thinking. This was very interesting to me, because this should totally be implemented into school, because creativity should be just as important in schools as academic intelligence.

Her blog QuietRev is also pretty amazing too. I check it out every so often and read a bunch of posts.

  1. Ken Robinson: Do Schools Kill Creativity

https://www.ted.com/talks/ken_robinson_says_schools_kill_creativity

I have watched this Talk at least four times just because I love it so much. I love the way Robinson presents the information and adds that little bit of humour to engage the audience and make them laugh. What makes it really good, though, is the message of the talk because as a student myself it’s very difficult to add creativity into school assignments. It is also very draining for an introvert like myself to be at school five days a week, doing activities that I don’t always like simply because I have to if I want to pass the class.

  1. Jason Fried: Why Work Doesn’t Happen At Work

https://www.ted.com/talks/jason_fried_why_work_doesn_t_happen_at_work?%20youtube

I liked this Talk because it could also be applied to schools. I find it very difficult to focus at school and end up doing a lot of my work at home because it’s a better environment to work in and you don’t have all the noise of school and teachers.

  1. Pamela Meyer: How to spot a liar

https://www.ted.com/talks/pamela_meyer_how_to_spot_a_liar

This video was watched only out of curiosity and because I like analyzing human behaviors so learning to spot liars seemed pretty cool to me.

I also viewed it around the time when I was watching Lie to Me on Netflix. And I know what you’re thinking, “the show was completely made up and wasn’t real at all”. Well, actually they weren’t that far off with some things, the writers definitely did their research. I remember an episode that discussed the different words used between genders. For example, women will use more inclusive words like “they”, “our”, etc. while men will take most of the credit and use words like “I”, “my”, etc. and this was said on the show and was read straight out of my Psychology textbook from last year.

-Brittany

 

Leave a Reply

