INTJ and INFJ: An Interview

35-intj-infj

Hey Readers, if you don’t know I am a twin, and also an INTJ. Interestingly enough my sister is an INFJ, so to compare the two types we put together an interview. Hope you enjoy.

  1. How did you discover the Myers-Briggs Test?

Brittany: It was three years ago. I had watched Susan Cain’s TedTalk and had started to do some research on the topic of introversion when I came across the 16Personalities and the Carl Jung Typology Test.

Lindsay: Through you.

  1. What did you think when you found out your type?

Brittany: I thought that I wasn’t weird anymore. That I had kind of found myself, and that it was ok for me to be this rational, and yet creative human being.

It also helped me come to terms with my emotions and it wasn’t wrong how I was handling them it was just different.

Lindsay: It kind of made me feel more normal, like it was ok to be the way I was.

It also helped me to deal with my depression because of how imaginative INFJ’s are we tend to plan the future and then get upset when it doesn’t turn out the way you wanted it to. So it helped me be more aware of that and then I can step back and deal with it.

It also made me feel less alone, as rare as INFJ’s are it was nice to know there are other people out there like me.

  1. Notable differences and similarities?

Brittany: I like that we do have our differences. Because we’re twins it’s difficult for others to separate us as two individuals, so as close in type as we are I admire those differences. Each of us has something different to bring to the table, for example, Lindsay is much more creative and artistic than I am so when I want to bring that to my own projects I know I can go to her and she can give me a completely different angle on the subject.

As for similarities I think both having the Intuition, N Function is very good, I think if Lindsay was an S instead of an N we wouldn’t get along as well as we do.

Lindsay: One big difference is the T and the F, the Thinking and Feeling functions. Britt will be much more rational at times, which as a side note can make bribing her quite difficult. However, it can come in handy for when I get too emotional, she helps me tap into my own rational side and see things in a much more objective way when needed.

But it can be quite difficult when I’m upset about something and when she’s the only one I can turn to, it’s hard on both of us because I get frustrated and she gets confused.

  1. What’s one thing you don’t like about the other and one thing you do like?

Brittany: We kind of already answered this in the last question, but one thing I don’t like is Lindsay’s  fluctuation in emotions, it throws me off sometimes when she suddenly gets really emotional about something.

On the flip side, I love that she covers for me when it comes to emotions, being such a strong thinker type it makes it difficult for me to connect on that level. So she kind of steps in for me, or lets me know when I’m being too rational in some social situations.

Lindsay: I like that we can have really in-depth, philosophical conversations, and we can talk about issues and stuff.

I think I don’t necessarily dislike anything about you, but there are definitely some things that annoy me. For example, because of my extroverted feeling I want to go out and do stuff, while you would rather sit at home.

Thanks for reading, and check out Lindsay’s YouTube Channel and blog as well, she talks a lot about mental illness and has some pretty great look books too.

Lindsay’s YouTube ChannelBlog, and Pinterest

-Brittany

One thought on “INTJ and INFJ: An Interview

Leave a Reply

