Dealing With Anxiety: Self-Improvement Tips

38. Anxiety.jpg

Hey Readers, today I’m talking about something a little more on the serious side of things, which I suppose isn’t uncommon for me to do, but I promise to leave on a happy note.

Today I wanted to talk about Anxiety, and while it took me a while to realize it, I have in fact experienced anxiety symptoms. And I know everyone’s been there at least once, before a big presentation, or job interview. But for me it was more serious than that. I’ve had my fair share of panic attacks, and since getting myself out of a depression two years ago, I have been trying to focus on being happy. That’s all, just “be happy”.  Which is easier said than done, but I have a few self-help tips that I’m going to be trying (or have already tried) to work on this. I think it’s my INTJness (is that even a thing????, whatever, you know what I mean) that causes me to always self-improve no matter how difficult or serious the task may be, but I think everyone can benefit from trying to improve themselves and be a better, happier individual.

Anyway, let’s get to it.

  1. Be open

First things first, don’t be afraid to just open your mind. Accept that there is something wrong and that you are going to do something about it. That used to be the hardest part, just accepting how I felt. I mean I was supposed to be happy, but instead I didn’t want to go to school if it meant I had to do that presentation. So just be open, be open to yourself and whatever it is you discover.

  1. Research

Secondly I turn to research. I want to know the exact definition of what “anxiety” is. Then I want to know its symptoms, and what may have caused it and so on. Once I get a better, logical understanding of things I don’t feel so helpless. If you can relatively pinpoint where the anxiety is coming from, then you can change it. With myself, it was my own mind that was working against me. I have a lot of self-doubt and I realized I have to do something about it or I’ll never reach my goal of being happy.

  1. Forums

Also to not feel so alone with dealing with anxiety, I look at forums. I want to know what others are going through and what they have done about it. It gives you a boost of confidence, because if they can do it, why can’t you. They also help to introduce new ways of looking at things, second opinions are always helpful.

  1. Amy Cuddy, Your Body Language Shapes Who You Are

Amy Cuddy: Your Body Language Shapes Who You Are, TedTalk

I’m sure a lot of people have heard about “fake it ‘til you make it” but I just re-watched Amy Cuddy’s TedTalk last week and realized that this could maybe help with anxiety. Maybe if you could fake being confident and happy, you could actually become that.

At its core, anxiety grows from changes in the brain, so if your brain circuits changed once, why can’t it be changed again? And that I think is what Amy Cuddy was trying to get at, our posture and our own nonverbals affect how we feel about ourselves so if we make a small tweak in what we do every day we can make big differences in our lives.

Her main experiment was with High and Low Power Poses. And if you do a High Power Pose every day for two minutes you could change your mood and how you view yourself. You can build your confidence and lessen your stress all in two minutes every day.

This is what I will be doing for the next while; I want to see if it actually works. Two minutes every morning in a high power pose and before anything that causes me anxiety.

  1. Selfies

I know, I know, most people cringe at the overused word now that took this society by storm. But there are benefits to it.

My thinking is that if smiling even when you feel unhappy can actually make you happier, then having that moment to look back on is even better.

So dress nice every day, do your make-up, and hair, and smile, and look your best every day and capture that moment.

 

So that’s all for today. I hope that these tips help, not only myself, but anyone reading this. So good luck to all of you.

-Brittany

Leave a Reply

