Quiet: A Book Review

47-quiet-review

First things first: It’s my Birthday! Yay!

Ok now that that is out of the way let’s get to today’s post; a book review of Susan Cain’s Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World that Can’t Stop Talking.

This book resonated with me more than any other book I’ve ever read. Cain writes in a way that is both technical and yet understandable (something I think is hard to come by).

Being such a strong introvert myself, reading Quiet makes me appreciate my natural introverted tendencies even more and helped me understand myself better. Like anyone I’m constantly learning new things about myself, and I find the more I know about myself, the more confident I become.

But I also resonated with the Extrovert Ideal, and the feeling of being misunderstood and undervalued because I’m an introvert and an INTJ at that. It hit all the right points and gave some helpful advice that anyone can learn from.

Apart from covering the pages with sticky notes and marking everything that I connected with, or thought was interesting to know, I also noted some familiar names as well.

47. Quiet Book.JPG

Brian Little was a Professor that was mentioned a few times in the novel and I’ve watched his TedTalk, throughout my personal research on introverts, as well as Jason Fried’s TedTalk.

The one other name, that kind of itched at a memory and didn’t click in until later was Franz Kafka. I’ve actually read one of his books The Trial for a Philosophy class in high school. And while the book was absolutely irritating to read (plus it turned out I didn’t have to read it) the fact that the name came up in the book I thought was kind of an interesting personal connection I could make.

Quiet is also so well researched and insightful, I would recommend it to anyone. In my last post I mentioned that I read it in four days because I just couldn’t put it down, it mentions everything from the history of introversion to the Extrovert Ideal, and to what society can do now to bring a more balanced world together of both introverts and extroverts.

If you haven’t read Quiet, I highly recommend it, as well as watching her TedTalk. If you have leave a comment below and share your thoughts, I’d love to hear them.

-Brittany

2 thoughts on “Quiet: A Book Review

Leave a Reply

