Bloom: Book Review

50-bloom-review

Hey Readers, I can’t believe how busy I have been lately, but I am trying so hard to keep up with blogging and putting out new content for all of you.

Anyway, I have been doing lots of reading lately, it’s been a few weeks into December, and I’ve already read five books, (honestly I’m just happy I’m actually reading again in general now that I don’t have to read anything for school), so I thought it was time for another good book review. This time it is Bloom: Navigating Life and Style by Estee Lalonde. Known for her YouTube beauty channel and my favourite series by her called Femtalk; she released this book in early October and I’ve only now just bought it, but it was absolutely amazing.

The synopsis reads:

In Bloom, Estee Lalonde shares the moments, people, and things that have made her who she is today. She reveals her life lessons and offers her tips for surviving life and finding yourself.

Celebrate your bloom story and what makes you unique.

Besides book itself, I loved the design of it. There was clearly so much thought put into it, with the font and the gold accents, and the “magazine” style paper (the pages were glossier like what you’d find in a magazine compared to an actually novel). I loved that the pages themselves weren’t overflowing with text and the design was very minimal, and the chapters were colour coded; which is totally something I would do.

As for the book, it was very raw and truthful. Estee opens up more in the book about her personal life than she ever has on her channel and it gave her viewers a new perspective on who Estee really is. In the first chapter she talks about her struggle with depression and anxiety and having experienced panic attacks myself, it’s comforting knowing that someone you kind of look up to has struggled as well and it makes all of these YouTube stars more human and maybe-not-so perfect, but I think that’s totally OK. I’ve never really believed in perfection anyway, we all have our flaws.

SAMSUNG CSC

Her last chapter she also opens up about her issues with food, and even that I could understand where she was coming from. I’m more at the opposite end if the spectrum, I’ve always been very petite, and while I’ve never struggled with an eating disorder, I do recognize the insecurities that everyone feels no matter what body shape you are.

I’ve always struggled with looking younger than I actually am, and because of that people have treated me the age they think I am rather than trying to understand that I am just petite. And everyone says that I’ll love it when I’m older and I get carded for the first time, but that doesn’t make it any less annoying right now. Everyone has insecurities, and society makes us feel that if you aren’t a certain size than there’s something wrong with you, and that goes for both ends of that spectrum, either being overweight or underweight.

But that’s the great thing about Estee’s book, is that she talks about her struggles, but also gives some really good advice and even admits that she doesn’t have it all figured out yet, but that she is still trying every day and I think that’s a really great message to send out.

To wrap up, I loved the format of the book, and how well it was written. Estee did an excellent job and I would recommend this book to any woman that is willing to read it.

Related: Quiet: A Book Review

-Brittany

 

 

One thought on “Bloom: Book Review

Leave a Reply

