Minimalism-Part 1

53-minimalism-part-1

Minimalism’s true definition, I believe has been skewed through social media and its sometimes terrible way of filtering through ideas that are different from society. However, with time and a little effort to understand, Minimalism is in essence a rudimentary lifestyle that anyone can adopt.

In my view, minimalism is focused on living an honest and fulfilling life, one where the little things matter the most, the minuscule moments that bring us joy, to learn a greater appreciation for the things we have and for our family.

I find though this is not something that can be forced onto someone with reason, I myself, discovered it by accident. A few years ago I became depressed and if anyone knows what that is like it’s not pretty. But me being an INTJ had had enough one day and decided to get up out of bed and do something about how I was feeling. I did little things; I would clean my room, go through my clothes and try on weird outfits. I returned to the things that made me happy before I became depressed, for example drawing or interior design, listening to music (because without fully realizing it I had stopped smiling and laughing and doing the things that made me feel happy, it was a kind of self-sabotaging period in my life).

I never had a word for it then, but as I de-cluttered and got rid of all the excess stuff, I began to feel less overwhelmed, my mind cleared even just a little bit, and it made all the difference.

Now, of course, I have done extensive research into minimalism and have adopted the lifestyle to fit my needs. I have also looked into tiny apartments and spaces (a combined interest with my love for interior design), capsule wardrobes, and keeping only the things that bring me joy. I am naturally organized,  but there’s a certain intrigue about consciously being aware of what I buy and how I use the things I do have, so I’m not wasting money on something I didn’t actually need.

Part 2 will go more in depth of how everyone can benefit from minimalism, but again I’m not saying it’s for everyone and I’m certainly not forcing anyone to switch over to it, but I think it’s good to provide the information, and share my story of how it’s helped me.

-Brittany

Leave a Reply

