Minimalism- Part 2

 

54-minimalism-part-2

Continuing on from last week, I wanted to discuss the stigma surrounding minimalism. I know some believe that only a certain type of person can actually live this way, but it’s not true. Minimalism doesn’t have to be some big switch; it can help in the smallest of places (unless you really want to makeover your life). Minimalism takes time, for me it took the progression of my depression to realize that I needed to do something different.

Some causes I have noticed though are periods of stress, or being overwhelmed and the feeling of not being able to think clearly. This is because of clutter (and I’ve done the research for all of this too, clutter does affect how we think and how well we think, there are certain environments that people can work better in compared to others), and this then flows into minimalism, and therefore having less stuff to worry about.

Some examples of areas as to where to start could be the kitchen. I know that counter space these days seems to be quite limited and physically have less pots and pans and utensils to worry about can help with that.

Other areas include a home office space. Even school papers can get a little crammed in binders and folders, but what I’ve noticed is that if you take the few extra moments to organize if properly and hole-punch the paper and put it through the rings, when you go to flip it open again you’re more apt to do the homework. If something looks less cluttered it becomes more appealing to use (this is just my view, and things I’ve noticed through experience).

There’s also the closet. I know that a lot of people like to shop (myself included), and it became difficult for me when I never had a true sense of my style, I bought clothes I liked, but never thought how they might truly fit me and whether or not I would feel comfortable in them. Now I take the time in investing in my closet and the clothes I buy and wear, I know my style and it’s because of capsule wardrobes, and it’s because of minimalism.

The point here is, minimalism doesn’t have to be big, in fact it’s really quite small. Even if you want to pick one area and minimize it by donating and selling the things you don’t need, then that’s a great way to see what it’s like, to try it out. Too many times I’ve seen people get so overwhelmed about something so small, and they don’t need to. Learn to enjoy the happy times. And if you’re feeling unhappy, find a way to get up and do something about it, make a change.

-Brittany

Leave a Reply

