Designing Characters

64-characters

I’ve talked about characters before, but I wanted to mention it again, because when it comes to writing, I love designing characters and figuring out their personalities and how they look, and then describing them. And I did this in my writing course, but it was before I started blogging about it, it was Week 3’s assignment and this is what I wrote…

She had a slender body, her fair skin was clear of any blemish or wrinkle or dark spot. Walking with purpose down her cities streets, her sharp heels clicked against the concrete walkway. But the usually significant noise seemed distant and faded behind the busy clamber of the streets. She kept her head tall, her long blonde hair pinned back in a tight bun, as she glided her way through the crowds of working class people. Avoiding those who thought it ok to stop in the middle of the sidewalk, and curving around the mother’s with strollers, and angsty teenagers brooding outside local shops. She ignored the catcalls and the shouting from the sales men and kept walking letting her trench coat billow behind her like a cape. But she was no superhero. Not by the opinions of many. Stuck-up, snob, slut. But she let the words slide off her, always kept her mind sharp and blue eyes focused. She didn’t have the time to worry about what other’s thought of her, she was re-inventing the beauty industry one makeup-less face at a time.

Designing characters is easily my favourite part about writing, because you get to take all of these little features and traits and put them together and create someone (relatively) unique. What makes a story good is the plot, what makes a story great are the characters. If you have bland characters, no one will be interested in what you have to say, but if the reader can resonate and understand the character than they’re more apt to keep reading.

Same goes for TV shows and movies, in my opinion, I’ve watched a few anime with my sister and while the story itself might be simple, because the characters are so well written I get hooked watching it. Like my example above, it’s a very straightforward scene, but it lets the reader focus directly on the character and gives a lot of insight into her mind.

Anyway, I love designing characters, and while I can’t draw I joke with my sister that as long as I can describe them, she can draw them (she’s much more artsy than I am).

-Brittany

 

Leave a Reply

