WC Week 7

65-wc-week-7

Week 7, already completed and on to the next assignment. This week it was all about Dialogue; direct and indirect dialogue, as well as looking at elaborate and simple tags. The assignment focused on accents and accurately depicting two foreign accents that would be written phonetically.

Which is more difficult than it sounds, especially since I’ve never been exposed to many foreign accents other than what I’ve seen in movies or read in books. I tried though and I kind of like how it turned out, the accents are supposed to be French and Russian, but like I said it was more difficult than I originally thought to convey the accents in written form, so no hate, I tried ok….

“Ahh, Miss Petrov,” Madame Devene said, “You’re late.”

“Ran into some trouble on my vay over,” she said, “do you have zem?”

“Of course, but zey are not ze brightest of adversaries, are zey? Picked zem up on zeir way out ze airport.”

A sly smile spread across Miss Petrov’s face, only to disappear seconds later, returning to her blank, controlled expression.

“But you didn’t have to come all zis way, my dear friend.” Petrov remained stoic. “What ‘appened?”

“You know my asset at CIA.” Madame Devene nodded. “Ve’ve been compromised.”

As per usual I was stuck for an idea until this kind of popped into my head, I was actually thinking of adding to it a little bit to create this secret society of women mob bosses that have their hands in everyone’s pockets and all come from different parts of the world. I don’t know it’s a strange idea which is probably why I like it so much.

There’s only four weeks left in the course though, and I’m actually a little upset about it, it ended up being more fun than I thought. On the upside there are five other courses I can take in order to receive a certificate and the next course is poetry (which I actually don’t mind that much now) and will most definitely be taking it.

Writing Course Introduction: Creative Writing: Online Course

-Brittany

One thought on “WC Week 7

Leave a Reply

